many bells down


How do you spell “boring”?
May 4, 2006, 3:18 pm
Filed under: Television

Thanks to a Broadway musical and a couple of movies, the National Spelling Bee is going to be broadcast on primetime TV.  The finals will be shown June 1 on ABC.  Previously, the Bee was aired on ESPN.  (I guess spelling is a type of sport.  Maybe?  Kinda sorta?)

The winner will receive more than $30,000 in cash, bonds and scholarships.  The 275 contestants hail from United States, American Samoa, the Bahamas, Canada, Europe, Guam, Jamaica, New Zealand, Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Don't get me wrong – I love spelling.  I was even an alternate in second grade!  But I think this has the potential to be more boring than watching golf or fishing, which happen to be two of the most boring sports to watch ever.  But maybe I'll be wrong, and it will be a nailbiter, compounded by the pressure to see if you, the viewer, can spell better than the kids in the competition.

On a somewhat related note, I never actually made it to my elementary school's spelling bee.  My friend Kathleen did, however, and got eliminated in the first round when she was asked to spell "study." 

Sweet!  What an easy word!  She was thinking to herself.  So it sort of came as a surprise when she answered, "Study. S-T-U-D.  Study." 

It was hilarious.  We all laughed, and she ran and locked herself in the bathroom because seriously, how embarrassing is that?  We still tease her about it to this day.  But I guess you had to be there for it to be funny? Yes, no?  Oh well.  It still makes me giggle.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

i love watching spelling bees. I remember one time the winning word was H. “can I have the definition?” “the eighth letter in the alphabet” H. and it was like…. eithche or something weird like that.
AND THEY GOT IT RIGHT! it was so suspenseful and awesome.

Comment by Jess Ross




Leave a Reply

