many bells down


“Did I listen to pop music because I was miserable? Or was I miserable because I listened to pop music?”
April 25, 2006, 1:17 pm
Filed under: Broadway, Movies, Music, News

This just in: High Fidelity, one of the funniest and greatest movies of all time, is coming to Broadway in December:

The $10 million musical has a score by Tom Kitt and Amanda Green and a book by David Lindsay-Abaire, whose play "Rabbit Hole" recently completed a critically praised Broadway run.

[Jeffrey] Seller said he decided to produce "High Fidelity" after hearing composer Kitt and lyricist Green (daughter of legendary lyricist Adolph Green and actress Phyllis Newman) perform four songs from the show at a 42nd Street club.

"I thought, `This must be my next musical,'" Seller said. "It's a great story about a guy who can't figure out how to hold on to a girl."

I am so excited about this I can hardly stand it!  The movie is hysterical (see title quote for example, and go out and rent it right now!), and I'm sure I'd love the book too if I read it.  I'm definitely going to catch this bad boy in previews!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

